Tuesday, November 10, 2009

Alcohol and Co.

(awesome name for a nightclub/bar)

As a general rule, a celiac can imbibe anything that has been distilled.

It is also usually better to go with a high end premium spirit (less likely to have strange additives or caramel coloring of the non-USA variety). This gives you a great reason to acquire discriminating taste-buds. Sadly, premium alcohol costs more, much like premium gasoline. Contrary to popular opinion, ordering pricey premium spirits does NOT make your pinkie finger extend while you drink your alcohol.

I wrote about GF beers in a previous post.
BEWARE of mixers - that's a post for the future.

The following spirits should all be OK. They are listed randomly, with alphabetical subcategories...

RUM
Appleton
Myer's Dark
Bacardi Superior and flavors
Bacardi Select
Bacardi 8
Captain Morgan
Gosling's Black Seal
Malibu
Mount Gay
Pusser's

TEQUILA
1800 Reposado
Cazadores Blanco
Sauza
Jose Cuervo Gold
Patron Silver

VODKA
Absolut and flavors
Finlandia Mango
Ketel One
Skyy
Smirnoff
Stolichnaya and flavors
Van Gogh flavors

WHISKEY / BOURBON
Bushmills
Canadian Club and Canadian Club Classic
Crown Royal
Jack Daniel's
Jameson Irish
Seagram's V.O.
Wild Turkey 101

GIN
Beefeater
Bombay Sapphire
Gordon's
Tanqueray

BRANDY / COGNAC
Calvados
Courvoisier V.S.

LIQUEURS (tend to have a lot of gluten and junk...the following are OK)
Cointreau (for a better margarita than triple-sec provides)
Grand Marnier

SCOTCH (stick to the semi-good and good stuff)
Some people think that scotch is a no-go, but I have not read anything definitive either way. I think you are OK with the ones I list here.
Chivas Regal
Cutty Sark
Dewar's 12
Dewar's White Label
Glenfiddich
J&B Rare

PORT? (need to investigate)

9 comments:

  1. @anonymous, AFAIK any dermatological response one might have with celiac is not due to the gluten intolerance but usually to a secondary similar allergy (such as wheat/rye/barley/oats reactions that are allergies to other parts of the grains than the gluten). i am not a doctor but from the research i have done as a celiac i cannot find any medical professional that has said you can get a breakout as a direct reaction to gluten as a celiac (but it is common with wheat allergies as my mother had rashes when she was little from wheat).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. @anonymous - Dermatitis herpetiformis is frequently linked to gluten sensitivity (celiac sprue disease) in the small bowel.

      @Matt - Also, I agree about Dewars White Label. I can drink some higher quality single malts in limited quantities with no problems. Recently though I drank one 50ml (airplane bottle, nip) of Dewars White Label on a flight and became severely ill within an hour and was sick for three days. It's the only thing I've been able to trace as a possible source of gluten exposure. Everyone's sensitivity and tolerance is different but I will certainly never go near it again.

      Delete
  2. sorry for the extra post but i actually just got off the phone with dewars and they say that all of their products test gluten free

    ReplyDelete
  3. thanks for the dewars info matt.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ketel One, and most of the whiskeys are all made from grain. Although America recognizes the distillery process as enough to categorize these as gluten free, not all countries feel the same way. When I, personally, drink any grain made alcohol I have an upset and bloated stomach.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I had a sonic screwdriver last night (Segram's vodka, blue caracao and sprite)-and about a half hour later, became very dizzy, profuse sweating and severe nausea. Had to leave the play I was seeing and literally had to be held up due to dizziness. NOT like me at all. Trying to piece together just what it was that glutened me. Any suggestions? I looked up blue caracao and it said that it was o.k. for celiacs?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Maybe the bartender substituted ingredients or added something...did you watch them make it?

      Delete
  6. Tito's Handmade vodka out of Austin TX is certified gluten free. Marked on label too. It's made from corn.

    ReplyDelete
  7. It proved to be Very helpful to me and I am sure to all the commentators here! treatment centers

    ReplyDelete